THE Zucchini Muffin Recipe

IMG_9232

This is one of the first recipes I really played with and made my own. It has been such a huge success that I almost rarely get the chance to make any other muffins. Even family members try to make me sell these for a living. Having worked with many food companies I know that would be a difficult living to depend on one muffin. So instead I am sharing it with all of you.

This muffin was created out of my need to use the prolific amount of zucchinis I was receiving weekly from my mother-in-law’s garden. Additionally, this proliferation of zucchini was occurring at the same time that my children were very young and turning away the green stuff regularly.  My kids do not like chunks and have some texture issues. So I started pureeing the zucchini to an applesauce like mush. I would freeze it in 2 cup batches so I would be ready to make a batch when needed.

Enjoy!

THE Zucchini Muffin Recipe

Ingredients

3 eggs

1 cup olive oil

1 1/2 cups Turbinado or cane sugar

2 cups pureed zucchini

2 teaspoons vanilla

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 Tablespoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground clove

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

3/4 cup wheat germ

1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions 

Preheat oven to 315 degrees Fahrenheit.

Beat eggs until light and foamy; add oil, sugar, zucchini and vanilla. Mix lightly but blend thoroughly.

Mix together flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and spices; mix lightly. Add dry ingredients to first mixture, stirring to blend. Stir in wheat germ and chocolate chips.

Spray the pan you choose with butter/oil spray of your choice and fill with batter almost to the top. To ensure the muffins or loaves are cooked, insert a toothpick or knife into the center and it should come out clean.

Cooking Options:

  • 2 – 8×4 inch loaf pans – 1 hour and 20 minutes
  • 2 – big nonstick muffin pans (2/3 cup liquid size muffins) @ 12 muffins – 35 minutes
  • 2 small nonstick muffin pans (1/3 cup liquid size muffins) @ 20 muffins – 25 minutes

Notes:

  • For the loaf pans I recommend putting a small scrap of parchment paper at the bottom to ensure it coming out of the pan easier.
  • If you want to go lighter on the sugar bring it down to 1 cup or 1 and 1/4 cups and up the amount of dark chocolate chips. The chocolate is better for you anyways.
  • If you want to substitute with applesauce or agave syrup for the oils or sugars you can but it will not have the same consistency. It will become rubbery-like. I personally don’t like the results but it could make it healthier.

Leave a Reply

